Little Owl Meatballs

August 27, 2010 § Leave a comment

Among the smattering of food blogs I follow, I have to say Smitten Kitchen and Amateur Gourmet definitely compete for most inspiring in terms of what recipes I dare to take on in a tiny East Village kitchen. When planning meals for this week, I came across Deb from Smitten Kitchen’s recipe for Joey Campanaro’s meatball sliders tucked away in the archives.

The quaint yet impressive restaurant in the West Village is one of the hardest reservations to score in New York, but it is well worth the effort just to try the sliders. I hear they are on the menu at Kenmare as well, but I’m not sure it would be quite the same quintessential New York dining experience. The meal I had there several months ago was spectacular from beginning to end. While the meatballs were incredible, none of the other food paled in comparison.

It was had my work set out for me to come close to duplicating their goodness, but Deb’s recipe did not disappoint. I took a few (err…many) liberties and shortcuts, omitting the veal, serving them sub style on a brioche hot dogs bun from Fresh Direct and baking the meatballs in the oven, but nonetheless they were fantastic. The meatballs were flavorful and juicy, just as remembered them and the homemade sauce was well worth the effort of excavating my mini Cuisinart from the tip-top cabinet. Many thanks to my sous chef who was also patient enough to have his sub photographed ad nauseam before a decent shot was captured and he was allowed to dig in. My digital camera doesn’t do it justice, but here are the results:

Note: The homemade hot dog buns from Fresh Direct were out of this world, especially when toasted. The aforementioned Amateur Gourmet’s recent hot dog bun french toast recipe may play a leading role in my weekend! As for the rest of the weekend, we have some exciting dinner plans for tomorrow evening and I hope there is cake baking in my near future as well. Expect a full report on Monday!

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Little Owl Meatballs at around and about.

meta

