The Weekend in Groceries

August 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

While shopping for groceries growing up meant one big trip to Kroger, in New York a week’s worth of groceries can easliy be sourced from three-four stores in order to secure the best ingredients and maintain a budget.

Our exploits took us to Chelsea Market for fresh seafood and incredibly cheap but fantastic produce and spices (.89 cents for 5oz of poppy seeds?!), Garden of Eden for last minute Saturday night ingredients, and Myers of Keswick for the aforementioned British fare Rupert and I were excited to seek out. Hopefully this will mean several home-cooked dinners this week (and finally taking proper advantage of Rupert’s roof deck grill). In the meantime, a quick overview of the highlights:

Lemon Poppy Seed Olive Oil Cake
My recent olive oil muffin from Maialino inspired me to take a stab at baking with olive oil. I tweaked a Lemon-blueberry Yogurt Cake from Deb at Smitten Kitchen using several of her recommended modifications. In this version, olive oil replaces the vegetable oil and poppy seeds take the place of the blueberries. I had some Siggi’s on hand which I used in place of full-fat plain yogurt. While I love the thickness of Siggi’s in spite of the fact that it is fat free, in this case the fat was missed and the cake turned out a bit drier than I would have liked. There’s always next time! I usually try to move baked goods quickly at the risk of consuming inordinate quantities myself, so this particular cake was also a treat for three of my building’s doormen, who seemed to approve.

Shrimp Tikka Masala
While I have been wanted to dabble more in Indian cuisine, having Banjara a phone call away and missing some essentials in my spice repertoire, have held me back. While a trip to Kalyustan’s will hopefully be part of my next shop around, Sharwood’s Tikka Masala really came through in this case. For a bottled sauce, this one was comprabable to any decent Indian take out I’ve had and we spruced it up a bit with some fresh shrimp from Chelsea Market and frozen peas. Topped off with basmati rice and some Trader Joe’s frozen garlic naan, this really was a quick but delicious meal.
http://www.sharwoods.com

The Brooklyn Salsa Company
While picking up some last minute dinner items at Garden of Eden, Rupert noticed the Brooklyn Salsa Company salsas, which were new to both of us.  We opted for The Bronx The Burnt variety, which was outstanding. With an organic ingredient list of tomatoes, eggplant, coconut milk, chili peppers, curry powder, lime juice, and more, this was a new flavor profile beyond typical salsa and one of the coolest things I’ve tried in a while. I’m excited to try the rest of the line and excited to see they are also distributed at Whole Foods per the Brooklyn Salsa Company website.
http://www.bksalsa.com

Source: The Brooklyn Salsa Company website

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Weekend in Groceries at around and about.

meta

